NOTES

At the Summer Meeting of the Society at Cornell University, on September 8–12, the Tenth Colloquium of the Society will consist of two courses of lectures: *The new differential geometry*, by Professor L. P. Eisenhart; and *The theory of approximation*, by Professor Dunham Jackson.

The Western Christmas Meeting of the Society and the meeting of the Southwestern Section of the Society will be held at Kansas City, in conjunction with the meeting of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. At the time of these meetings, Professor James Pierpont will deliver the annual Gibbs lecture, on the topic Some modern views of space. It is planned to hold the ordinary meeting on Tuesday, December 29, to have a joint session with the Mathematical Association and with Section A on Wednesday morning, and to have the Gibbs lecture presented before a general session of the American Association on Wednesday afternoon. The ordinary meeting of the Mathematical Association will probably fall on Thursday.

The opening number of volume 27 of the TRANSACTIONS OF THIS SOCIETY (January, 1925) contains the following papers: On normal forms of differential equations, by W. F. Osgood; Congruences with constant absolute invariants, by H. L. Olson; On the prime divisors of the cyclotomic functions, by C. M. Huber; On the roots of the Riemann zeta function, by J. I. Hutchinson; A generalization of the Riemannian line element, by J. L. Synge; Elementary functions and their inverses, by J. F. Ritt; Analytic transformations of everywhere dense point sets, by Philip Franklin; An algebraic solution of the Einstein equations, by G. Y. Rainich.

At the meeting of the Division of Physical Sciences of the National Research Council in Washington on April 26, the following officers were elected for the year beginning June, 1925: Chairman, J. S. Ames; Secretary, W. E. Tisdale; Vice-Chairman, F. K. Richtmyer; Executive Committee, J. S. Ames (chairman), G. D. Birkhoff, P. D. Foote, D. C. Miller, L. Page, F. K. Richtmyer. The following persons were elected members at large: G. D. Birkhoff, D. L. Webster. New members representing scientific societies were announced as follows: for the American Astronomical Society, J. Stebbins; for the American Mathematical Society, L. P. Eisenhart; for the American Physical Society, A. J. Dempster and A. L. Foley; for the Division of Federal Relations, W. Bowie.