NOTES

The opening number of volume 47 of the AMERICAN JOURNAL OF MATHEMATICS (January, 1925) contains the following papers: L'expression la plus générale de la "distance" sur une droite, by Maurice Fréchet; Second paper on tensor analysis, by G. Y. Rainich; Generalization of certain theorems of Bohl, by F.H. Murray; Expansion problems in connection with the hypergeometric differential equation, by B. P. Reinsch.

The third number of volume 25, series 2, of the ANNALS OF MATHEMATICS (March, 1924) contains: On the method of least mth powers for a set of simultaneous equations, by Dunham Jackson; The derivative of the general integral, by P. J. Daniell; On a class of transformations in function space, by I. A. Barnett; Congruences of circles studied with reference to the surface of centers, by J. M. Thomas; On Neumann's existence proof, by W. F. Osgood; On the autormorphic functions of the group (0,3; 2, 4, 6), by H. H. Dalaker; Note on Dirichlet's series with complex exponents, by Einar Hille; On the types of monoidal involutions, by Virgil Snyder; An inequality for the roots of an algebraic equation, by J. L. Walsh. The fourth number (June, 1924) contains: Differential equations from the group standpoint, by L. E. Dickson.

At the annual meeting of the Mathematical Association of America in Washington, the following officers were elected: Professor J. L. Coolidge, president; Professors A. A. Bennett and Dunham Jackson, vice-presidents; Professors R. C. Archibald, L. P. Eisenhart, E. V. Huntington, and H. L. Rietz, members of the Board of Trustees.

Among the officers of the American Association for the Advancement of Science elected at the Annual Meeting of 1924, held at Washington, are the following: President, Professor M. I. Pupin, of Columbia University; vice-president, Section A (mathematics), Professor W. H. Roever, of Washington University; secretary, Section A, Professor R. C. Archibald; member of the executive committee, Professor E. B. Wilson, Harvard School of Public Health. Professors Arnold Dresden and E. B. Stouffer have been appointed representatives of the American Mathematical Society on the Council of the Association for 1925. The next Annual Meeting will be held at Kansas City.

The following have been elected officers of the London Mathematical Society: President, A. L. Dixon; vice-presidents. L. N. G. Filon, H. Hilton, and W. H. Young; treasurer, A. E. Western; secretaries, G. H. Hardy and G. N. Watson.