NOTES

The third number of volume 24, series 2, of the Annals of Mathematics contains: On the potential of a homogeneous spherical cap, of a magnetic shell, and of a steady current, by C. De Jans; On cyclic-harmonic curves, by Harold Hilton; Multiple integrals in n-space, by Philip Franklin; On symmetric forms in n variables, by Arnold Dresden; Algebraic fields, by J. H. M. Wedderburn; A theorem concerning certain unit matrices with integer elements, by H. R. Brahana.

At the annual meeting of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, held at Cincinnati December 27, 1923, to January 2, 1924, Dr. J. McKeen Cattell, editor of Science, was elected president. Vicepresidents were elected as follows: mathematics, Professor J. C. Fields; physics, Dr. E. F. Nichols; astronomy, Professor J. A. Miller; historical and philological sciences, Professor L. C. Karpinski. Professor T. H. Hildebrandt was elected as member of the Committee for Section A (mathematics). Professor G. A. Miller delivered his address as retiring vicepresident of Section A before the joint session of that section with the American Mathematical Society and the Mathematical Association of America; the address was on American mathematics during threequarters of a century. At this session Professor L. E. Dickson delivered, at the request of the program committee of the American Mathematical Society, an address on Algebras and their arithmetics, for which (together with his two other papers read before sessions of this Society) he was awarded the Association's prize for the most valuable contribution to science presented during the meeting (see this Bulletin, vol. 30, Nos. 1-2, p. 90. Professor Dickson's address appears in full in the present issue of this Bulletin on pages 247-257. A review of his book of the same title appears on pages 263-270.

Professor H. L. Rietz has been elected president of the Mathematical Association of America, and Professors J. L. Coolidge and Dunham Jackson vice-presidents.

Professor W. H. Young has been elected president of the London Mathematical Society, Professors L. N. G. Filon, Harold Hilton, and A. E. Joliffe vice-presidents, Dr. A. E. Western treasurer, and Professors G. H. Hardy and G. N. Watson secretaries.

The fiftieth anniversary of the founding of the Société Française de Physique was celebrated at Paris in December, 1923. On this occasion a general meeting of the International Union of Physics was held, on December 10.