THE OCTOBER MEETING OF THE AMERICAN MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY.

THE one hundred and sixty-fifth regular meeting of the Society was held in New York City on Saturday, October 25, 1913, extending through the usual morning and afternoon sessions. The following thirty-three members were present:

Professor R. C. Archibald, Dr. F. W. Beal, Professor E. W. Brown, Professor F. N. Cole, Professor Elizabeth B. Cowley, Dr. H. B. Curtis, Professor I. P. Eisenhart, Professor H. B. Fine, Dr. C. A. Fischer, Professor T. S. Fiske, Mr. G. H. Graves, Dr. G. M. Green, Dr. T. H. Gronwall, Professor C. C. Grove, Professor H. E. Hawkes, Mr. S. A. Joffe, Professor Edward Kasner, Professor C. J. Keyser, Mr. P. H. Linehan, Professor James Maclay, Mr. B. E. Mitchell, Mr. F. S. Nowlan, Professor W. F. Osgood, Dr. H. W. Reddick, Professor L. P. Siceloff, Dr. Clara E. Smith, Professor D. E. Smith, Mr. F. H. Smith, Professor F. B. Van Vleck, Mr. H. E. Webb, Professor H. S. White, Miss E. C. Williams, Professor J. W. Young.

The President of the Society, Professor E. B. Van Vleck, occupied the chair, being relieved at the afternoon session by Ex-President H. S. White. The Council announced the election of the following persons to membership in the Society: Mr. R. W. Burgess, Cornell University; Dr. Tomlinson Fort, University of Michigan; Dr. Cora B. Hennel, Indiana University; Mr. J. H. Kindle, University of Cincinnati; Professor Arthur Korn, Charlottenburg, Germany; Mr. M. A. Linton. Provident Life and Trust Company, Philadelphia, Pa.; Mr. John McDonnell, Canadian Geodetic Survey; Mr. J. Q. McNatt, Colorado Fuel and Iron Company, Florence, Colo.; Mr. T. E. Mason, Indiana University; Mr. B. E. Mitchell, Columbia University; Mr. George Paaswell, New York City: Mr. D. M. Smith, Georgia School of Technology; Professor Panaiotis Zervos, University of Athens. Twelve applications for membership in the Society were received.

A committee was appointed to audit the accounts of the Treasurer for the current year. A list of nominations for officers and other members of the Council, to be placed on the official ballot for the annual meeting, was adopted.

In response to an invitation from Brown University to