CONSTITUTION.

ARTICLE I.

This Society shall be called the American Mathematical Society.

ARTICLE II.

The object of the Society shall be to encourage and maintain an active interest in mathematical science.

ARTICLE III.

The officers of the Society shall be a President, two Vice-Presidents, a Secretary, a Treasurer, a Librarian, and a Committee of Publication to consist of three members who at the same time may hold individually any of the other offices.

ARTICLE IV.

The officers of the Society, the ex-Presidents, the Editorial Committee of the Transactions, and twelve other members of the Society shall constitute a Council, which shall have general charge of the affairs of the Society.

ARTICLE V.

1. The officers of the Society and four other members of the Council shall be elected by ballot at the Annual Meeting of each year. An official ballot shall be sent to each member at least one month prior to the Annual Meeting, and such ballots, if returned to the Secretary in envelopes bearing the names of the voters, shall be counted at the Annual Meeting. Each such ballot shall contain a name proposed by the Council for each vacancy, with blank spaces in which the voter may substitute other names. A majority of all votes cast in person or by mail shall be necessary to election. In case of failure to secure a majority for any office, the members present at the Annual Meeting shall choose by ballot between the two having the highest number of votes. The members of the Editorial Committee of the Transactions shall be appointed by the Council.

2. The ex-Presidents of the Society shall be permanent members of the Council; the term of office otherwise shall be two years for the President, one year for other officers, and three years for other members of the Council, and until their successors shall be elected. For election as President shall be eligible those members of the Society who have served in the office of Vice-President and who are not holding office as President or Vice-President; and for