THE NINTH SUMMER MEETING OF THE AMERI-CAN MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY.

THE ninth summer meeting of the AMERICAN MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY was held at Northwestern University, Evanston, Ill., on Tuesday and Wednesday, September 2–3, 1902. Morning and afternoon sessions were held on each day in Room 7 of the University Hall. The President of the Society, Professor Eliakim Hastings Moore, presided at the first session, and was relieved at the later sessions by Professor T. S. Fiske and Professor H. S. White.

The attendance numbered about fifty-five, including the following thirty-seven members of the society:

Professor Oskar Bolza, Mr. A. R. Crathorne, Professor L. E. Dickson, Professor L. W. Dowling, Professor John Eiesland, Dr. William Findlay, Professor T. S. Fiske, Dr. W. B. Fite, Dr. J. W. Glover, Professor G. W. Greenwood, Professor A. S. Hathaway, Professor T. F. Holgate, Dr. Edward Kasner, Dr. H. G. Keppel, Professor Kurt Laves, Dr. D. N. Lehmer, Professor Heinrich Maschke, Professor J. A. Miller, Professor E. H. Moore, Professor Frank Morley, Dr. F. R. Moulton, Professor H. B. Newson, Professor Alexander Pell, Professor D. A. Rothrock, Miss I. M. Schottenfels, Professor G. T. Sellew, Professor J. B. Shaw, Professor E. B. Skinner, Professor Ormond Stone, Professor E. J. Townsend, Professor H. W. Tyler, Professor C. A. Waldo, Professor H. S. White, Professor W. H. Williams, Professor J. W. A. Young, Mr. J. W. Young, Professor Alexander Ziwet.

The Council announced the election of the following persons to membership in the Society: Professor T. J. I'a. Bromwich, Queen's College, Galway, Ireland; Mr. J. S. Brown, New York City; Professor G. C. Edwards, University of California, Berkeley, Cal. Eight applications for membership were received.

The Council decided that the name of the new section, authorized at the last meeting, should be the San Francisco Section; and the programme committee of the Section was approved. In accordance with a motion adopted by the Society, the Council appointed a special committee consisting of Professors Tyler (chairman), Fiske, Osgood, Young and Ziwet to