THE OCTOBER MEETING OF THE AMERICAN MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY.

A REGULAR meeting of the AMERICAN MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY was held in New York City on Saturday, October 28, 1899. Thirty persons were in attendance at the two sessions, including the following members of the Society:

Professor Maxime Bôcher, Professor E. W. Brown, Professor F. N. Cole, Professor T. W. Edmondson, Professor A. M. Ely, Professor T. S. Fiske, Mr. A. S. Gale, Dr. G. B. Germann, Miss Carrie Hammerslough, Mr. S. A. Joffe, Mr. C. J. Keyser, Dr. G. H. Ling, Professor F. H. Loud, Dr. Emory McClintock, Dr. James Maclay, Dr. G. A. Miller, Professor E. H. Moore, Professor F. Morley, Professor B. O. Peirce, Professor A. W. Phillips, Professor James Pierpont, Professor M. I. Pupin, Miss Amy Rayson, Professor C. A. Scott, Professor H. D. Thompson, Professor E. B. Van Vleck, Professor A. G. Webster, Miss E. C. Williams, Professor R. S. Woodward.

The President of the Society, Professor R. S. Woodward, occupied the chair. At the opening of the morning session a recess was taken to enable the members to attend the presidential address of Professor H. A. Rowland before the American Physical Society, which was in session in the same building. The simultaneous meeting of the two Societies, which is intended to be a permanent feature, naturally added to the interest and activity on both sides. The two organizations are modelled on a common plan; they have many members in common; and their hearty coöperation, which seems assured, cannot fail to be an important factor in the advancement of science.

The Council announced the election of the following persons to membership in the Society: Professor M. E. Bogarte, Northern Indiana Normal School, Valparaiso, Ind.; Mr. A. S. Gale, Yale University, New Haven, Conn.; Mr. B. F. Groat, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, Minn.; Dr. Edward Kasner, Columbia University, New York, N. Y.; Professor J. A. Miller, University of Indiana, Bloomington, Ind.; Professor A. M. Sawin, Clark University, Atlanta, Ga.; Professor S. A. Singer, Capital University, Columbus, Ohio; Dr. H. E. Slaught, University of Chicago, Chicago, Ill.; Professor E. P. Thompson, Miami University, Oxford, Ohio. Seven applications for membership were received.

With a view to economy of time, the Council voted that