THE FORTY-EIGHTH ANNUAL MEETING OF THE AMERICAN ASSOCIATION FOR THE ADVANCEMENT OF SCIENCE.

THE forty-eighth annual meeting of the American Association for the Advancement of Science was held in Columbus, Ohio, August 21–26. There were 352 members and associates in attendance and 273 papers were presented before the sections. The members came from twenty-eight different states, the District of Columbia, and Canada. considerable number of members of affiliated societies were also in attendance, many of whom took part in the proceedings of the sections in which they were interested. Their presence increased the general scientific interest; and in view of the desire of the various sections to have still closer relations with the respective affiliated societies, authority was given to the officers of the Association whereby any section may arrange for a joint meeting with societies of a similar scope. It is hoped that the Ameri-CAN MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY and the Society for the Promotion of Engineering Education may meet next year with Sections A and D respectively. Probably several other societies will hold joint meetings with the corresponding sections of the Association.

The next meeting of the Association will be held in New York City during the last week of June, 1900, under the presidency of Professor R. S. Woodward, Columbia University. Professor Asaph Hall, Jr., Michigan University, will be vice-president of Section A, and Dr. W. M. Strong, Yale University, will be secretary. It is hoped that the change in the time of these meetings from the latter part of August to the last week in June will tend to increase the attendance. This change seemed especially desirable for next year since it will enable many to attend the meetings of the Association on their way to the Paris exposition.

The meetings of the section of mathematics and astronomy were well attended. The officers of this section were: vice-president, Alexander Macfarlane; secretary, J. F. Hayford; councilor, C. L. Doolittle; sectional committee, Alexander Macfarlane, J. F. Hayford, G. B. Halsted, R. D. Bohannan, W. M. Strong. The Council elected the following mathematicians and astronomers to fellowship in the Association: S. M. Barton, W. P. Durfee, O. L. Fassig, R. A. Fessenden, C. E. Furness, R. A. Harris, G. A. Hill,