between 1847 and 1865. In 1865, however, encouraged by the interest in his researches manifested by many English mathematicians, in the forefront of whom must be named Cayley, he returned to the subject of the geometry of space. Referring to his abandonment of his geometrical work twenty years before, he said that while the details had escaped from his memory, two leading questions had remained dormant in his mind; the first was that of introducing right lines as elements of space, instead of points and planes; and in close connection with this was the second, a question in mechanics. To these he devoted the last three years of his life, developing his ideas in a series of papers, Nos. 33-38, published in England, France and Italy, all leading up to his Neue Geometrie des Raumes, 1868-9.

The last paper in the volume, No. 39, published in 1833, is a preliminary account of the *System der analytischen Geometrie*, on which he was then engaged. It is sometimes remarked that the eminently proper person to review a book is the writer thereof, and in this announcement, as in his prefaces, Plücker appears as his own sympathetic reviewer.

The concluding thirty pages of the volume are devoted to the editorial comments; by his interesting historical notes and helpful criticisms here contained, as well as by the care bestowed in making good the original carelessness in the matter of proof-reading, Professor Schoenflies has made all lovers of Plücker his debtors.

CHARLOTTE ANGAS SCOTT.

BRYN MAWR COLLEGE, October, 1897.

NOTES.

PROFESSOR NEWCOME has chosen the philosophy of hyperspace as the subject of his presidential address to be delivered at the annual meeting of the AMERICAN MATHEMATICAL Society on December 29th.

A NEW list of members of the AMERICAN MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY will be published in January. Blank forms for furnishing necessary information have been sent to each member, and a full and prompt response is requested.

At the annual meeting of the London Mathematical Society, held on November 11, the following officers and members of the Council were elected for the ensuing year: President, Professor E. B. Elliott; Vice-Presidents, Major