THE OCTOBER MEETING OF THE AMERICAN MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY.

At the meeting of the American Mathematical Society held on May 29, 1897, the By-Laws of the Society were amended to provide that regular meetings should thereafter be held on the last Saturdays of October, February and April, unless otherwise ordered by the Council. The Annual Meeting, held in the last week of December, is unaffected by this action. The reduction of the number of New York meetings to four annually, instead of eight as heretofore, was made with a view to securing greater prominence and interest for each meeting, and to affording the members of the Society a better opportunity for scientific and social intercourse. For this purpose, and in compensation for the reduction in the number of meetings, it was provided that each meeting should hereafter extend through two sessions, The wisdom of to be held in the morning and afternoon. the new departure was abundantly demonstrated at the first meeting held under it on Saturday, October 30, 1897, in New York City.

Forty-one persons were in attendance, of whom thirtyseven were members of the Society. Nine papers were presented at the two sessions. Both numbers greatly surpass those of any previous regular meeting, and the result is especially gratifying in view of the brief interval since the highly successful Summer Meeting of the Society at Toronto.

In the absence of President Newcomb, the Vice-President, Professor R. S. Woodward, occupied the chair. The register of members in attendance was as follows: Professor Cleveland Abbe, Professor E. W. Brown, Dr. J. B. Chittenden, Professor F. N. Cole, Professor E. S. Crawley, Dr. J. W. Davis, Professor T. W. Edmondson, Professor A. M. Ely, Professor T. S. Fiske, Mr. P. R. Heyl, Dr. G. W. Hill, Dr. J. E. Hill, Professor H. Jacoby, Mr. S. A. Joffe, Mr. C. J. Keyser, Professor P. Ladue, Professor G. Legras, Dr. G. H. Ling, Dr. E.McClintock, Mr. J. Maclay, Professor H. P. Manning, Professor M. Merriman, Professor G. D. Olds, Mr. J. C. Pfister, Professor M. I. Pupin, Professor J. P. Pierpont, Professor J. K. Rees, Mr. C. H. Rockwell, Professor C. A. Scott, Professor H. Taber, Professor H. D. Thompson, Professor C. L. Thornburg, Professor J. M. Van Vleck, Professor E. B. Van Vleck, Professor J. B. Webb, Mr. G. L. Wiley, Professor R. S. Woodward.