NOTES.

A REGULAR meeting of the New York Mathematical Society was held Saturday afternoon, December 2, at half-past three o'clock, the president, Dr. McClintock, in the chair. The following persons having been duly nominated, and being recommended by the council, were elected to membership: Mr. Preston A. Lambert, Lehigh University; Mr. Edward Leroy Brown, Lehigh University. It was announced that the annual meeting would be held on Thursday afternoon, December 28, at half-past three o'clock. A committee of three, consisting of Mr. Legras, Professor Merriman, and Dr. Stabler, was elected to report at the annual meeting nominations for the officers and other members of the council for the coming year. Dr. G. W. Hill read a paper entitled "The application of analysis to polyedra."

THE annual meeting of the New YORK MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY was held Thursday afternoon, December 28, at half-past three o'clock. In the absence of the president and vice-president, Professor W. Woolsey Johnson occupied the chair. Professor Simon Newcomb delivered an address entitled "Modern mathematical thought." The thanks of the Society were tendered to Professor Newcomb, and he was requested to furnish a copy of his address for publication. The address appears in the present number of the BULLETIN. See p. 95.

Upon the recommendation of the council, the following persons, having been duly nominated, were elected to membership: Professor C. L. Doolittle, Lehigh University; Mr. F. W. Frankland, New York Life Insurance Company; Miss Ida Griffiths, New York. Reports were presented by the secretary and treasurer. The secretary stated that the membership of the Society was 239, of whom 44 resided in New York city and suburbs. The average attendance of members at the meetings had been 16, and 49 members had attended one or more meetings. Upon motion by the treasurer, an auditing committee was appointed to examine his accounts.

The committee on nominations, elected at the preceding meeting, reported a ticket for the officers and other members of the council for the ensuing year, and, a ballot being taken, this ticket was declared elected. The officers and council for 1894 are: president, Dr. Emory McClintock; vice-president, Dr. G. W. Hill; secretary, Dr. Thomas S. Fiske; treasurer, Mr. Harold Jacoby; librarian, Mr. Gustave Legras; committee of publication, Dr. Thomas S. Fiske and Professor Alexander Ziwet; other members of the council,