## NOTES

The International Congress of Mathematicians 1954 will be held in Amsterdam from September 2 to September 9 under the auspices of Het Wiskundig Genootschap (The Mathematical Society of the Netherlands). Those who wish to attend the Congress are requested to communicate their name (with degrees, qualifications etc.) and full address to the secretariat, 2d Boerhaavestraat 49, Amsterdam, The Netherlands, as soon as possible.

The Board of Directors of the Heineman Foundation for Research, Educational, Charitable and Scientific Purposes, Inc. announce the establishment of a prize to be known as the "Dannie Heineman Prize," in the sum of \$5,000, to be awarded every three years to the author of an outstanding book or manuscript in the mathematical or physical sciences. Submissions for the next award shall be made not later than December 31, 1955. Further information may be obtained from the Secretary of the Foundation, 50 Broadway, New York 4, New York.

The American Mathematical Society has received a grant from the National Science Foundation for research in experimental methods for reducing costs of publication and distribution of mathematical papers.

National Science Foundation Postdoctoral Fellowships have been awarded to the following: Assistant Professor N. J. Fine, University of Pennsylvania; Visiting Associate Professor J. L. Kelley, University of Kansas; Dr. J. C. Moore, Princeton University; Associate Professor Ernst Snapper, University of Southern California.

The National Science Foundation has announced grants in mathematics to the following institutions, to support studies by the professor indicated: University of Michigan, Wilfred Kaplan; Princeton University, N. E. Steenrod; University of Virginia, E. J. McShane; Washington University, H. Margaret Elliott.

Associate Professor Arthur Bernhart of the University of Oklahoma has received a five hundred dollar award "for extraordinary excellence in student counseling and in the teaching of freshman and sophomore students." A grant of \$25,000 to the University will make it possible to present ten similar awards each year during the next five years.

Assistant Professor Louise H. Chin of the University of Arizona has received a Ford Foundation Fellowship and will study at Harvard University and the University of California.

Professor Arthur Erdélyi of the California Institute of Technology has been elected a Foreign Member of the Academy of Sciences of Turin.