NOTES

The organization called VOKS (or Society for Cultural Relations with Foreign Countries, B Gruzinskaya 17, Moscow 56, U.S.S.R.) is able to locate institutions evacuated because of the war and has as its purpose the continuation of scientific contact between Russia and other countries. The Embassy advises us to send letters to individual scientists through VOKS.

Professor R. H. Fowler of the University of Cambridge and Dr. R. P. Paranjpye of Poona, India, have been knighted.

Dean L. P. Eisenhart of Princeton University has been appointed Executive Officer of the American Philosophical Society to succeed Professor Emeritus E. G. Conklin of Princeton University, who is now President of the Society.

Professor H. B. Evans of the University of Pennsylvania has retired with the title professor emeritus.

Professor A. C. Lunn of the University of Chicago has retired with the title professor emeritus.

Professor C. B. Upton of Teachers College, Columbia University, has retired with the title professor emeritus.

Dr. J. S. de Wet of the University of Pretoria has been promoted to a professorship.

The following members of the American Mathematical Society are in residence at the Institute for Advanced Study for all or part of this academic year: Dr. Valentine Bargmann, Dr. I. S. Cohen, Dr. Kurt Gödel, Dr. Audrey W. McMillan, Dr. W. R. Transue, Dr. L. I. Wade and Mr. J. E. Wilkins.

The following persons are also to be at the Institute for Advanced Study for all or part of this academic year: Dr. Shuichi Kusaka, Professor Wolfgang Pauli, formerly of the Technical School in Zurich, and Professor C. L. Siegel, formerly of the University of Göttingen.

Assistant Professor H. W. Bailey of the University of Illinois has been promoted to an associate professorship.

Professor B. L. Beegle of Seattle Pacific College has been appointed dean of the college.