THANKSGIVING MEETING IN LEXINGTON

## THE THANKSGIVING MEETING IN LEXINGTON

The three hundred twenty-sixth regular meeting of the Society was held at the University of Kentucky on Friday and Saturday, November 29–30, 1935. About ninety persons attended, among whom were the following thirty-two members of the Society:

N. B. Allison, B. M. Armstrong, F. R. Bamforth, I. A. Barnett, W. D. Baten, Henry Blumberg, P. P. Boyd, W. S. Claytor, L. W. Cohen, L. L. Dines, H. H. Downing, K. W. Folley, Harris Hancock, E. H. Hanson, M. H. Ingraham, E. D. Jenkins, C. G. Latimer, F. E. LeStourgeon, C. W. Mendel, H. A. Meyer, C. N. Moore, David Moskovitz, A. L. Nelson, E. G. Olds, R. S. Park, E. D. Pepper, R. F. Rinehart, J. B. Rosenbach, W. F. Smith, Guy Stevenson, J. J. Stoker, J. M. Thomas.

Friday afternoon Professor C. G. Latimer of the University of Kentucky gave an address entitled *The arithmetic of generalized quaternions*, and on Saturday afternoon Professor L. L. Dines of Carnegie Institute of Technology spoke on *Convex domains and linear inequalities*.

Friday afternoon the mathematicians and their guests attended a very enjoyable tea at the home of President and Mrs. McVey.

A dinner was held at the Lafayette Hotel Friday evening. Sixty mathematicians and their guests attended. The toastmaster, Dean P. P. Boyd of the University of Kentucky, called first upon President McVey who extended to the group a welcome to the University. A response was given by Professor C. N. Moore of the University of Cincinnati. Professor J. M. Thomas of Duke University spoke about his experiences as Managing Editor of the new Duke Mathematical Journal during its first year, and the policies and future of the Journal. Short talks were then given by Professors M. H. Ingraham of the University of Wisconsin, Harris Hancock of the University of Cincinnati, C. G. Latimer of the University of Kentucky, and L. L. Dines of the Carnegie Institute of Technology.

At the session on Saturday afternoon a resolution was passed thanking the President and Trustees of the University of Kentucky and the Department of Mathematics for their hospitality.

1936.]