NOTES

The Committee on Economic Security, appointed by the United States Government to study phases of social insurance, has announced that its subcommittee on actuarial questions will be constituted as follows: Professor J. W. Glover, of the University of Michigan, chairman; President M. A. Linton, of the Provident Mutual Life Insurance Company, Professor H. L. Rietz, of the University of Iowa, and Professor A. L. Mowbray, of the University of California. This committee will advise the Administration on means of financing a program of social insurance.

In addition to the members of the editorial board of the Transactions of the American Mathematical Society, the following persons have assisted the editors by refereeing papers offered for publication in the volume for 1934: H. R. Brahana, Alonzo Church, A. B. Coble, L. E. Dickson, E. L. Dodd, L. P. Eisenhart, G. C. Evans, T. H. Hildebrandt, T. R. Hollcroft, Eberhard Hopf, R. E. Langer, Stanislaw Saks, P. A. Smith, Virgil Snyder, Otto Szász, T. Y. Thomas. The editors appreciate this assistance and desire to give it this public recognition.

The following volumes of the Colloquium Publications of the American Mathematical Society have recently appeared: volume 17: J. H. M. Wedderburn, Lectures on Matrices; volume 18: Marston Morse, The Calculus of Variations in the Large; R. E. A. C. Paley and Norbert Wiener, Fourier Transforms in the Complex Plane.

The second All-Soviet Mathematical Congress was held at Leningrad, June 24–30, 1934. The attendance included about six hundred delegates from various institutions in the Soviet Union. In addition to invited addresses, some two hundred thirty papers were presented at the sectional sessions. Professor S. Lefschetz, of Princeton University, delivered an invited address on Algebraic geometry, its methods, problems, and tendencies.

The Reale Istituto Veneto di Scienze e Lettere has proposed as subject for a prize from the Querini Stampalia foundation *The problem of turbulence in the dynamics of fluids*. A monograph is desired that will present the modern mathematical and experimental methods of treating this problem and will contain new contributions to the theory. Competition closes December 31, 1935.

The following medals have recently been awarded by the Royal Society of London: the Sylvester medal to Bertrand Russell, for his work on the foundations of mathematics; a Royal medal to Professor S. Chapman, for his researches in the kinetic theory of gases; the Rumford medal to Professor W. J. de Haas, for his researches on the properties of bodies at low temperatures; the Hughes medal to Professor K. M. G. Siegbahn, in recognition of his work on long-wave X-rays.

The Flavelle medal of the Royal Society of Canada has been awarded to Professor, L. V. King of McGill University.