## NOTES

A new journal, Scripta Mathematica, devoted to the history and philosophy of mathematics, has been established under the auspices of Yeshiva College, New York City; Professor Jekuthiel Ginsburg, of that College, is editor-inchief. The editorial board includes also R. C. Archibald, L. C. Karpinski, C. J. Keyser, Gino Loria, Vera Sanford, Lao G. Simons, and D. E. Smith.

The Annali della Reale Scuola Normale Superiore di Pisa announces the following subjects for a prize memoir, to be submitted before June 15, 1934: a brief summary of the theory of partial differential equations of elliptic and parabolic type; a brief summary of the theory of analytic functions of several complex variables and of important special classes of such functions. Competing memoirs should be unpublished, written in Italian, French, English, or German, and not longer than the equivalent of thirty quarto printed pages. The prize memoir will be printed in Italian in the Annali.

The Lazzaro Fubini prize for 1932 has been awarded to Dr. Tullio Viola, of the University of Bologna, for several memoirs and notes, including a memoir Sui diagrammi reciproci del Cremona and several papers on unilateral continuity and derivatives. An additional prize was awarded from the same foundation to Dr. Mario Villa, of the University of Pavia, for his work in algebraic geometry.

The Henry Draper medal of the National Academy of Sciences has been awarded to Dr. V. M. Slipher, astronomer of the Lowell Observatory, Flagstaff, Arizona.

Professor U. Amaldi, of the University of Rome, has been elected a corresponding member of the Pontifical Academy of Sciences.

Professor Albert Einstein has received an honorary doctorate from the University of Glasgow.

Professors B. Finzi, of the University of Milan, and R. Serini, of the University of Pavia, have been elected corresponding members of the Reale Istituto Lombardo.

Professor Jules Haag, of Besançon, has been elected correspondent of the Paris Academy of Sciences in the section of mechanics, as successor to Professor H. Villat, of the Sorbonne, elected a member of the Academy in the same section.

The University of Paris has conferred an honorary doctorate on Professor Tullio Levi-Civita, of the University of Rome.