THE ANNUAL MEETING IN NEW ORLEANS

The thirty-eighth Annual Meeting of the American Mathematical Society was held at New Orleans, Louisiana, from Monday to Thursday, December 28–31, 1931. The meeting opened on Monday morning with a general session of the Society devoted to mathematical statistics, followed in the afternoon by sectional sessions. At the close of these, a meeting of the Council was held. There being no quorum at the meeting of the Board of Trustees announced for the same afternoon, the Board adjourned to meet in New York City on January 2.

On Tuesday morning, at a joint session with the American Physical Society, Professor G. D. Birkhoff spoke on *Stability* and instability of physical systems, and Dr. W. F. G. Swann on *The significance of the fundamental concepts of modern atomic* theories. The lecture by Professor Birkhoff will appear in an early issue of this Bulletin.

On Tuesday afternoon, at a joint session with the American Physical Society and Section A of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, Professor G. A. Bliss delivered his address as retiring vice-president of Section A, entitled *The* calculus of variations of the quantum theory. This was followed by the ninth Josiah Willard Gibbs Lecture, delivered by Professor P. W. Bridgman, and entitled Statistical mechanics and the second law of thermodynamics. Both of these lectures will appear in full in early issues of this Bulletin.

The annual business meeting of the Society, on Wednesday morning, preceded a general session devoted to papers on analysis. Wednesday afternoon was devoted to an excursion to the old French quarter of New Orleans. The annual dinner was held at the Patio Royale Restaurant on Wednesday evening, one hundred eighty being present and President Eisenhart acting as toastmaster; other speakers at the dinner were Professors H. E. Buchanan, Dunham Jackson, C. G. Latimer, Tibor Radó, and H. E. Slaught.

At the joint session of the Society and the Mathematical Association of America, on Thursday morning, Professor E. R. Hedrick delivered his retiring address as President of the