NOTES

A new journal, the Rendiconti del Seminario Matematico della Reale Università di Padova, has been founded, under the editorship of A. Comessatti, E. Laura, A. Tonolo, and G. Vitali.

The next International Congress of Applied Mathematics will be held at Cambridge, England, in the Summer of 1934.

The Centenary Meeting of the British Association for the Advancement of Science will be held at London, September 23–30, 1931, under the presidency of General Smuts. Sir J. J. Thomson has been elected president of Section A (mathematical and physical sciences).

The Mexican scientific society "Antonio Alzate" (founded in 1884) has, by virtue of a resolution passed by the President of the Republic and the Department of Public Instruction, been constituted as the National Academy of Sciences, under the title Academia Nacional de Ciencias Antonio Alzate, and was inaugurated December 9, 1930.

At the Cleveland meeting of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, Assistant Professor C. F. Roos, of the department of mathematics of Cornell University, was elected permanent secretary, as successor to Professor B. E. Livingston, who becomes general secretary. Professor E. R. Hedrick was elected vice-president and chairman of Section A (mathematics), and Professor G. C. Evans vice-president and chairman of Section K (social and economic sciences).

At the annual meeting of the Mathematical Association of America, Professor E. T. Bell was elected president, and Professors Arnold Dresden and C. N. Moore vice-presidents.

The Paris Academy of Sciences announces the award of the following prizes for 1930: the Poncelet prize to Arnaud Denjoy, for his mathematical work; the Francœur prize to Eugene Fabry, for his study of the singularities of analytic functions; the Henri de Parville prize to Emile Duchêne, for his work in aerodynamics and ballistics; the Lalande prize to Nicolas Stoyko, for his theoretical and practical work in the calculation of planetary orbits; the Pierre Guzman prize to Alexandre Véronnet, for his work in cosmogony; the Delalande-Guérineau prize to Félix Ollivier, for his work on photogrammetry entitled La Topographie dans Topographes; the LaCaze prize to Henri Abraham, for his scientific work; the Hébert prize to Richard Langlois, for his work entitled Les Machines Asynchrones à Champs Tournants, à Bagues et à Collecteur, Théorie Générale et Applications; The Montyon prize in statistics to René Roy, for his work in the application of mathematics to statistics and economics; the Binoux prize for history and philosophy of the sciences jointly to Pierre Brunet, for his work entitled Les Physiciens Hollandais et la Méthode Expérimentale en France au XVIIIe Siècle and his biography of Maupertuis, and to Niels Nielsen, for his work entitled Géomètres Français sous la Révolution; the Jeanbernat-