NOTES

1930.]

NOTES

The Mathematical Association of America announces the publication of volume 2 of the *Rhind Mathematical Papyrus*, by A. B. Chace, L. Bull, and H. P. Manning, with a bibliography of Egyptian and Babylonian mathematics by R. C. Archibald, and a description of the mathematical leather roll in the British Museum, by S. R. K. Glanville. This volume contains the photographic fac-simile, the hieroglyphic transcription, the transliteration, and the literal translation. The work is published under the auspices of the Mathematical Association through the Open Court Publishing Company.

A new journal entitled Studia Mathematica has been founded at Lwow, under editorship of Stefan Banach and Hugo Steinhaus.

Professors Artur Haas, of the University of Vienna, and F. G. Donnan, of the University of London, have been invited by the Gibbs Committee (representing the departments of physics and chemistry of Yale University) to be editors of a commentary on the works of J. Willard Gibbs. A number of distinguished physicists and chemists will collaborate with them.

The Academy of Sciences of Amsterdam has awarded the Roozeboom gold medal for contributions to physical chemistry to Dr. J. J. van Laar, formerly of the University of Amsterdam.

The Nobel prize in physics for 1928 has has been awarded to Professor O. W. Richardson, of King's College, London. The prize in physics for 1929 has been awarded to the Duc de Broglie, of Paris.

The Verein Deutscher Ingenieure has awarded the Grashof medal to Professor L. Prandtl.

Cambridge University has awarded its John Winbolt prize to J. N. Goodier, of Downing College, and H. S. Sayles, of St. John's College, for their joint dissertation on *Some problems of plane stress*.

The Royal Society of London has awarded its Davy medal to Professor G. N. Lewis, of the University of California, for his contributions to classical thermodynamics and the theory of valence, its Copley medal to Professor Max Planck, of the University of Berlin, for his contributions to theoretical physics and especially as originator of the quantum theory, and a Royal medal to Professor J. E. Littlewood, of Cambridge, for his work in mathematical analysis and the theory of prime numbers.

The Technical School of Danzig has conferred an honorary doctorate on Professor C. W. Oseen, of Upsala.

The Saxon Academy of Sciences has elected as corresponding members Professors David Hilbert, of Göttingen, and Max Planck, of Berlin.