THE OCTOBER MEETING IN NEW YORK

The two hundred forty-fourth regular meeting of the Society was held at Columbia University, on Saturday, October 31, 1925, extending through the usual morning and afternoon sessions. The attendance included the following fifty members of the Society:

Archibald, W. L. Ayres, Babb, C. R. Ballantine, J. P. Ballantine, A. A. Bennett, R. W. Burgess, Alonzo Church, Cole, Fite, Fort, Philip Franklin, Frink, Gronwall, C. C. Grove, Hille, Dunham Jackson, Joffe, Kline, Langman, Lefschetz, Lieber, Longley, H. P. Manning, Maria, Meder, Rainich, Raynor, Reddick, R. G. D. Richardson, Ritt, Schelkunoff, Seely, Siceloff, Simons, Sosnow, M. H. Stone, Stouffer, T. Y. Thomas, Tracey, Tyler, Vallarta, Veblen, Weiss, Anna Pell Wheeler, H. S. White, Whittemore, Wiener, K. P. Williams, W. A. Wilson.

The following nine persons were elected to membership in the Society:

Mr. Ralph Palmer Agnew, Cornell University;

Mr. Julius Alsberg, consulting engineer, New York City;

Dr. Theodore Bennett, University of Illinois;

Dr. Elbert Frank Cox, West Virginia Collegiate Institute;

Mr. M. E. Hekimian, Larchmont, N.Y.;

Mr. Charles Everett Rhodes, Heidelberg University;

Mr. Homer B. Snook, Shaker Heights Schools, Cleveland;

Professor Vidal Arceo Tam, University of the Philippines;

Dr. Marian Marsh Torrey, Goucher College.

A committee consisting of Mr. S. A. Joffe and Professor Tomlinson Fort was appointed to audit the accounts of the Treasurer for the current year, and to report to the Board of Trustees at the Annual Meeting. A list of nominations of officers and other members of the Council was adopted and ordered printed on the official ballot for the annual election.

A committee was appointed to make arrangements for the Annual Meeting. It was announced that President Birkhoff had appointed the following members to represent the Society: Professor Richard Morris at the inauguration of President