## THE APRIL MEETING OF THE SOCIETY IN NEW YORK

The two hundred twenty-ninth regular meeting of the Society was held at Columbia University, on Saturday, April 28, 1923, extending through the usual morning and afternoon sessions. The attendance included the following fifty-seven members:

Archibald, Beal, Birkhoff, Blichfeldt, B. H. Camp, Cole, Crum, Dantzig, Dodd, Douglas, Fine, Fiske, Fite, M. C. Foster, Philip Franklin, Fry, Gafafer, Gill, Gronwall, Hazlett, Hebbert, E. R. Hedrick, Hille, Huntington, Joffe, Kellogg, Kircher, Kuhn, Lamson, MacDuffee, Mathewson, Meder, Mirick, Molina, Mullins, Northcott, Oglesby, Osgood, Pell, Pfeiffer, Raynor, Reddick, R. G. D. Richardson, Ritt, Rosenbaum, Seely, Siceloff, Silverman, Sosnow, Swartzel, Tracey, Vandiver, H. E. Webb, Weisner, Wetzel, H. S. White, J. W. Young.

At the meeting of the Council, the following twenty persons were elected to membership in the Society:

Professor Thomas Cicero Amick, Elon College;

Professor Harry Cyrus Bradley, Massachusetts Institute of Technology;

Mr. Alexander Joseph Cook, Harvard University;

Professor Palmer Hampton Graham, New York University;

Professor David Arthur Hatch, Lafayette College;

Mr. Harold Hotelling, Princeton University;

Professor Emma Hyde, Kansas State Agricultural College;

Mr. Philip Chapin Jones, Goodyear Tire and Rubber Company;

Mr. Ralph Eugene Kennon, University of Iowa;

Mr. Edgar Lucien Larkin, Lowe Astronomical Observatory;

Mr. Ben Zion Linfield, Harvard University;

Mr. George Averett Lyle, Lehigh University;

Mr. Dalip Singh Saund, University of California;

Mr. David Skolnik, Central High School, Newark;

Mr. Han Yih Tsang, Columbia University;

Mr. John Isaac Vass, Northwestern University;

Professor Evelyn Walker, Hunter College;

Mr. Albert Harry Wheeler, North High School, Worcester;

Professor Hugh Brown Wilcox, University of Minnesota;

Mr. Kitizi Yanagihara, Yamagata Higher School.

The Secretary announced that the following members of the London Mathematical Society had entered the American Mathematical Society since the February meeting, under the reciprocity agreement:

Dr. Bevan Braithwaite Baker, University of Edinburgh;