THE WINTER MEETING OF THE CHICAGO SECTION.

The fortieth meeting of the Chicago Section was held at the University of Chicago on December 28–29 in conjunction with the third annual meeting of the Mathematical Association of America. The meeting opened with a dinner of the two organizations on Thursday evening, December 27, at which seventy-three persons were present. The program for the joint session on Friday afternoon consisted of the retiring address by the chairman of the section, Professor W. B. Ford, entitled "A conspectus of the modern theory of divergent series," and of a paper by Professor L. D. Ames, "On a definition of the real number system by means of infinite decimals."

The attendance at the different sessions, which continued until Saturday afternoon, included about eighty-five persons, among whom were the following fifty-nine members of the Society:

Professor L. D. Ames, Professor R. C. Archibald, Professor G. A. Bliss, Professor P. P. Boyd, Professor H. T. Burgess, Professor W. H. Bussey, Professor W. D. Cairns, Professor Florian Cajori, Professor D. F. Campbell, Professor R. D. Carmichael, Professor C. E. Comstock, Professor A. R. Crathorne, Mr. G. H. Cresse, Professor D. R. Curtiss, Professor E. W. Davis, Professor L. E. Dickson, Professor E. L. Dodd, Professor Arnold Dresden, Professor Otto Dunkel, Professor Arnold Emch, Professor L. C. Emmons, Professor H. J. Ettlinger, Professor W. B. Ford, Professor Harris Hancock, Professor E. R. Hedrick, Professor T. H. Hildebrandt, Professor F. H. Hodge, Professor E. V. Huntington, Professor A. M. Kenyon, Dr. H. R. Kingston, Professor Kurt Laves, Dr. E. B. Lytle, Professor Malcolm McNeill, Professor W. D. MacMillan, Professor G. A. Miller, Professor U. G. Mitchell, Professor C. N. Moore, Professor E. H. Moore, Professor C. C. Morris, Professor E. J. Moulton, Professor G. W. Myers, Professor H. B. Phillips, Professor L. C. Plant, Professor S. E. Rasor, Professor H. L. Rietz, Professor W. H. Roever, Miss I. M. Schottenfels, Dr. A. R. Schweitzer, Professor J. B. Shaw, Professor C. H. Sisam, Professor H. E. Slaught, Dr. G. W. Smith, Professor E. J. Townsend, Professor H. W. Tyler,