HIROSHIMA MATH. J. 7 (1977), 71–91

Principal Oriented Bordism Modules of Finite Subgroups of S³

Yutaka KATSUBE

(Received July 7, 1976)

Introduction

The principal oriented bordism module $\Omega_*(G)$ of a compact Lie group G is defined to be the module of all equivariant bordism classes of closed principal oriented (smooth) G-manifolds, and is a module over the oriented bordism ring Ω_* of R. Thom (cf. [2]).

Let G be a finite subgroup of the unit sphere S^3 in the quaternion field **H**. Then, it is well known that G is a cyclic group Z_m , a binary dihedral group $D^*(4m)$ or a binary polyhedral group T^* , O^* , or I^* (cf. (1.1)).

The Ω_* -module structure of $\Omega_*(G)$ is determined by P. E. Conner and E. E. Floyd [2, Ch. VII] for $G = Z_{p^k}$ (p: odd prime), and by K. Shibata [7, §§ 1-4] for $G = Z_2$. Also, it is proved by N. Hassani [3] that there is an isomorphism $\Omega_*(Z_{mm'}) = \Omega_*(Z_m) \otimes_{\Omega_*} \Omega_*(Z_{m'})$ if m and m' are relatively prime.

Furthermore, in the recent papers K1 and K2, we have determined $\Omega_*(G)$ for $G = Z_{2^k}$, $k \ge 2$ (K1-Theorem 2.18), and for $G = H_m = D^*(2^{m+1})$, $m \ge 2$ (K2-Theorem 8.12). As a continuation to these papers, we study in this paper the Ω_* -module structures of $\Omega_*(G)$ for the remaining finite subgroups G of S³, that is,

$$G = D^*(2^{m+1}t)$$
 (t: odd ≥ 3 , $m \ge 1$), T^* , O^* and I^* .

Our results are stated in Theorems 4.8, 5.9, 6.10 and 7.8 as follows:

$$\begin{split} \widetilde{\Omega}_{*}(D^{*}(2^{m+1}t)) &= D\widetilde{\Omega}_{*}(D^{*}(2^{m+1})) \oplus D'\mathfrak{Z}_{t,1}, \\ \widetilde{\Omega}_{*}(T^{*}) &= T(\mathfrak{L}_{2} \oplus \mathfrak{W}_{2}) \oplus T'\widetilde{\Omega}_{*}(Z_{3}), \\ \widetilde{\Omega}_{*}(O^{*}) &= \mathfrak{D} \oplus O(\mathfrak{W}_{2} \oplus \mathfrak{Q}_{2}), \\ \widetilde{\Omega}_{*}(I^{*}) &= \mathfrak{I} \oplus I_{4} \mathfrak{G}_{2,1} \oplus I_{3}\mathfrak{Z}_{3,1} \oplus I_{5}\mathfrak{Z}_{5,1}. \end{split}$$

Here

$$\widetilde{\Omega}_{*}(D^{*}(2^{m+1})) = \mathfrak{L}_{m} \oplus \mathfrak{W}_{m} \oplus \mathfrak{Q}_{m} \oplus \mathfrak{Q}_{m}^{\prime} \quad \text{(cf. K2-Theorem 8.12),}$$
$$\widetilde{\Omega}_{*}(Z_{t}) = \mathfrak{Z}_{t,0} \oplus \mathfrak{Z}_{t,1} \quad \text{(cf. Theorem 3.8),}$$