2012 NORTH AMERICAN ANNUAL MEETING OF THE ASSOCIATION FOR SYMBOLIC LOGIC

University of Wisconsin Madison, WI, USA March 31–April 3, 2012

The 2012 North American Annual Meeting of the Association was held on the campus of the University of Wisconsin at Madison, March 31–April 3, 2012. The program included the Gödel lecture, nine one-hour invited plenary talks, five special sessions, and four sessions of contributed talks. A reception was held on Saturday evening.

The members of the Program Committee were Jeremy Avigad, Bradd Hart (Chair), Arnold Miller, Gopalan Nadathur, and Jan Reimann. The members of the Local Organizing Committee were Uri Andrews, Mingzhong Cai, Steffen Lempp (Chair), Arnold Miller, and Joseph Miller

There were 111 registered participants at the meeting, including 45 graduate students. Generous financial support was provided by the Department of Mathematics of the University of Wisconsin, the logic group at Wisconsin, the National Science Foundation, and the Association for Symbolic Logic.

John Steel delivered the Gödel lecture on *The hereditarily ordinal definable sets in models of determinacy*. The plenary addresses at the meeting were:

Alan Dow (UNC Charlotte), Compact spaces, converging sequences and set theory.

Isaac Goldbring (UCLA), Definability in metric structures.

Warren Goldfarb (Harvard), Wittgenstein against logicism.

Joseph Miller (Wisconsin), Lebesgue density and cupping with K-trivial sets.

Toniann Pitassi (Toronto), Differential privacy and fairness in classification.

Antonio Montalbán (Chicago), Computability of quasi-well-orderings.

Grigor Sargsyan (Rutgers), The Solovay hierarchy.

Sergei Starchenko (Notre Dame), On Peterzil-Steinhorn groups definable in algebraically closed fields.

Moshe Vardi (Rice), From philosophical to industrial logics.

There were five special sessions (with organizers in parentheses): Computability (Laurent Bienvenu and Jan Reimann), History of logic on the centenary of the birth of Jean van Heijenoort (Thomas Drucker), Model theory (Bradd Hart and Michael C. Laskowski), Set theory (Dilip Raghavan and Juris Steprāns), and Structural proof theory (Dale Miller). There were a total of twenty nine speakers.

Abstracts of the invited talks and the contributed talks (given in person or by title) by members of the Association for Symbolic Logic follow.

For the Program Committee
BRADD HART

© 2013, Association for Symbolic Logic 1943-5894/13/1902-0005/\$3.10 DOI:10.2178/bsl.1902050