NOTICES

THE 2008 SACKS PRIZE AWARDED JOINTLY TO I. EPSTEIN AND D. RAGHAVAN. The ASL
Committee on Prizes and Awards has selected Inessa Epstein of the California Institute of
Technology and Dilip Raghavan of the University of Toronto as the recipients of the 2008
Sacks Prize. The prize consists of a cash award plus five years free membership in the ASL
for each awardee.

Epstein received her Ph.D. in 2008 from the University of California, Los Angeles, under the supervision of Greg Hjorth. The Prizes and Awards Committee citation notes that in her thesis, *Some results on orbit inequivalent actions of non-amenable groups*, she "solves one of the most important problems in measurable group theory, the resolution of which involves a combination of deep results from different branches of mathematics."

Raghavan received his Ph.D. in 2008 from the University of Wisconsin at Madison under the supervision of Ken Kunen. The Committee cited that his thesis, *Madness and set theory*, "uses modern methods associated with independence proofs to obtain, just using *ZFC*, results on almost disjoint (MAD) families, that in particular solve a twenty-year-old problem of Van Douwen."

- The 2008 ASL Election. The ASL membership has elected Lev Beklemishev (Steklov) and Roman Kossak (CUNY) to the Executive Committee, and Ayse Berkman (Ankara) and R. Ramanujam (CIT, Institute of Math Sciences, Chennai) to the Council. Their terms of office are for three years beginning January 1, 2009. The Nominating Committee consisted of Michael Hallett, Steffen Lempp, Rohit Parikh, John Steel (Chair), Stan Wainer, and Carol Wood.
- CALL FOR PROPOSALS: 2012 NORTH AMERICAN ANNUAL MEETING. The ASL Committee on Logic in North America requests proposals for the 2012 ASL North American Annual meeting, to be held some time in the first five months of 2012. The committee seeks a university somewhere in North America and a local committee to host the meeting and handle the local arrangements. The ASL meetings ordinarily cycle geographically in the pattern: midwest (Notre Dame 2009), east (George Washington 2010), west (site for 2011 to be determined). Thus, for 2012 the committee seeks a location in the midwest. Any reasonable proposal, however, will be considered. For more information, interested parties should contact the Committee Chair, Jeremy Avigad (email: avigad@cmu.edu) no later than November 1, 2009.
- CALL FOR PROPOSALS: 2011 AMS-ASL JOINT SPECIAL SESSION. The ASL Committee on Logic in North America requests proposals for an AMS-ASL Joint Special Session to be held at the Joint Mathematics Meetings in New Orleans, January 5–8, 2011. Proposals or requests for further information should be sent to the Committee Chair, Jeremy Avigad (email: avigad@cmu.edu). The deadline for receipt of proposals is January 15, 2010.
- 2009 SACKS PRIZE. The ASL invites nominations for the 2009 Sacks Prize for the most outstanding doctoral dissertation in mathematical logic. Nominations must be received by September 30, 2009. The Sacks Prize was established to honor Professor Gerald Sacks of MIT and Harvard for his unique contribution to mathematical logic, particularly as adviser to a large number of excellent Ph.D. students. The Prize was first awarded in 1994 and became an ASL Prize in 1999. The Fund on which the Prize is based is now administered by the ASL and the selection of the recipient is made by the ASL Committee on Prizes and Awards. The Sacks Prize will consist of a cash award plus five years free membership in the ASL.