MORSE THEORY WITHOUT CRITICAL POINTS

WOLFGANG SMITH

Let X denote an n-dimensional differentiable manifold and $f: X \rightarrow X$ R a real-valued differentiable function on X, where "differentiable" means (let us say) C^{∞} . We shall be concerned with the case where f has no critical points, and thus, too, with the case where X is not compact. In place of critical points we will introduce a notion of "critical fibers", and in place of the index we shall assign to each isolated critical fiber a set of "type numbers" m_p^+ for p = 0, 1, ..., n-1. Roughly speaking, a critical fiber is one across which the fiber-structure of f suffers a discontinuity, and m_p^+ is a homology measure of that discontinuity on dimension p. Given that f is bounded and has only a finite number of critical fibers, we let M_p^+ denote the sum of the type numbers m_p^+ over all critical fibers. Our main result is that these coefficients satisfy the strong Morse inequalities:

$$M_0^+ \ge R_0$$

 $M_1^+ - M_0^+ \ge R_1 - R_0$
 $M_{n-1}^+ - M_{n-2}^+ + \dots \pm M_0^+ = R_{n-1} - R_{n-2} + \dots \pm R_0,$

where R_p denotes the p-dimensional Betti number of X (with respect to a given coefficient module G). We show, moreover, that for p < n-1they constitute in fact a *bona fide* generalization of the classical Morse inequalities. For, if $h : M \to R$ denotes a differentiable function on a compact manifold with non-degenerate critical points, and we let X denote the complement of the critical points in M, then our preceding inequalities for f = h|X reduce (as will be shown) to the Morse inequalities for h on dimensions p < n - 1.

1. Basic lemmas. First some notation and terminology. The symbol $H_p(X, A)$ will denote the p-dimensional singular homology group of the topological pair (X, A) over some (fixed) coefficient group G. We will say that the pair (X, A) is regular if the inclusion $A \subset X$ induces isomorphisms $H_p(A) \approx H_p(X)$ for all p. We will need the following elementary fact regarding excisive couples [5]: Copyright ©1989 Rocky Mountain Mathematics Consortium