NOTES

Professor P. A. Alexandroff of the University of Moscow has been elected a foreign associate of the National Academy of Sciences.

Dr. L. M. Brown of the University of Edinburgh, Dr. J. M. Hyslop of the University of Glasgow, Dr. J. M. Jackson of University College, Dundee, and Dr. A. J. Macintyre of the University of Aberdeen have been elected fellows of the Royal Society of Edinburgh.

Miss Mary L. Cartwright of the University of Cambridge and Professor T. G. Cowling of the University College of North Wales have been elected fellows of the Royal Society.

Dean R. D. Carmichael of the University of Illinois has retired with the title emeritus.

Professor O. E. Neugebauer of Brown University and Professor Hassler Whitney of Harvard University have been elected to membership in the American Philosophical Society.

Professor P. A. Smith of Columbia University has been elected to membership in the National Academy of Sciences.

Dr. Patricia Dolciani of Cornell University has been awarded the Sigma Delta Epsilon post doctoral fellowship for 1947–1948 and will study at the Institute for Advanced Study.

Messrs. Paul Olum of Harvard University and E. H. Spanier of the University of Michigan have been awarded Frank B. Jewett fellowships for 1947–1948 by the American Telephone and Telegraph Company.

Associate Professor J. B. D. Derksen of the Netherlands School of Economics at Rotterdam has joined the Statistical Office of the United Nations at Lake Success.

Dr. G. H. A. Grosheide and Dr. J. Haantjes of the Free University of Amsterdam have been promoted to professorships. This is a correction of an item in the March issue of this Bulletin.

Mr. K. J. Arrow of Columbia University has been appointed research associate with the Cowles Commission for Research in Economics.

Professor W. L. Ayres of Purdue University has been appointed Dean of the School of Science.

Mr. R. C. Buck of Harvard University has been appointed to an assistant professorship at Brown University.

Professor Samuel Eilenberg of Indiana University has been appointed to a professorship at Columbia University.